Winters

I am sitting typing on the computer, every so often glancing out the window at the snow falling down.  I love the beauty of each of the seasons.  Winter is no different for me, as long as it isn’t the winter of my soul.  I had a long winter of that kind that lasted a handful of years. It is spring in my heart now.

Today I decided to blog about winter memories that I have… Random ones.  You may or may not be interested, but winter can have good memories and I want to reminisce today.

When we lived out in the countryside near Illiopolis, (from the time I was 5-10,) whenever it snowed the wind would drift around the fences and barns.  I remember one time the drifts were as tall as I was.  The icicles would drip down off of the tin roof of our barn and nearly reach the ground.  I always liked it when there was a layer of ice on the snow.  I would try to walk on it, but sometimes it would break and the snow would nearly go up to my knees.

Around that same time we lived next door to my grandparents’ horse farm.  Grandpa would wear his coveralls, usually with a coffee mug in his hand.  When it was cold out, their house usually smelled like coffee and whatever Grandma was baking.  I would hug Grandpa when he came in. He would be cold and his beard would be scruffy, but I didn’t mind. Sometimes I would go to the tack room down at the yearling barn.  Usually Grandpa had a big box of doughnuts in there.  I think that he would buy 3 or 4 dozen glazed doughnuts at the local grocery store.  They would last a few days, sometimes so stale that the icing would flake off and the doughnut would be kind of hard.  I’d eat them anyway.  I love doughnuts!

We moved to Lincoln when I was 10.  One winter memory is when the neighborhood bully was throwing ice at my little brother.  He wouldn’t stop, so I grabbed the biggest icicle I could find and chased him off.  I have always stood up to bullies, especially those who use and prey on those weaker than themselves.  And I always will.  Always.

I remember going to a friend’s house with a bunch of the people from school/church and sledding at the golf course that they lived near.  There aren’t many hills in Lincoln, so that is where everyone goes to sled when it snows.  We sledded for hours.  It was a lot of fun and one of the good memories of Lincoln.

After my oldest daughter was born, I remember her first snow.  (At least the one where she was cognizant of the white stuff all over the ground.)  She pretty much just walked back and forth on the sidewalk saying “Ooo.. piddy!” in her squeeky, little toddler voice.  The first time we took the older two girls sledding, they initially liked it.  But after about 30 minutes, the younger one was done.  She cried… loudly!  So we headed home and drank some hot chocolate.  That made the coldness all better.

Our first winter in TN at our current home was BEAUTIFUL.  If this place has anything, it has a view.  The rolling hills covered with snow… Not much that is prettier, I don’t think.

So now, I am sitting looking out at the window at the Radio Flyer tricycle in our front yard covered in snow, a little teary and bleary, because my kids are growing up.  Our youngest, and probably last, child will be too big to use the tricycle anymore.  It will have to go into storage to await the arrival of the grandkids.  (Hopefully MANY years down the road!)  I want to make treasure of the good.  I’ve had enough winter of my soul.  My heart is coming to life slowly, thawing from the numb of wounds meanly given by some and unintentional by others.  I have learned that you have to take the bad with the good and cherish the good while throwing off the bad.  Such is life’s winters….

Leave a Reply

