Growing Up Homegrown

In my last post, I said that I would put up some pics of me growing up in the country.  Here they are! 🙂

IMG_0378

The above picture was at my grandparents’ Standardbred horse farm.  This swing was on a huge Kentucky Coffee tree right next to the house that Grandpa built.  They lived on 120+ acres of woods, fields, and pasture.  The Sangamon River ran through their property.

IMG_0376

This is also at my Grandparents’ farm.  (We lived on the property next to theirs.)  One time I got into the pasture with their wildest stallion!

IMG_0373 IMG_0375

These two pics were also taken at my Grandparents’ farm.  My Dad took these photos.  They mean a lot to me. (So does my Dad.)

IMG_0374

I believe that this was at a county fair.  I couldn’t tell you which one, as every year we went to several while traveling the state of Illinois’ harness racing circuit.

IMG_0377

My Dad also took this pic.  This was on our property.  We had 20+ acres.   Dad built a house on the property after we lived in a ramshackle abode for a couple of years.

IMG_0379

This is me helping my Dad in the garden.  I followed him around everywhere. Rosco Bosco is the dog in the background.  He didn’t live very long, unfortunately.  The road we lived on was rather dangerous.

IMG_0380

On this fishing trip with my Dad, I was the only one who caught something.  It was a pretty puny, little Sunfish.

Sometime I’ll dig through the photos and try to find some of the harness horses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

