Walk On

When I was “just” a housewife, not having started my music career yet, I would watch Oprah.  I remember 2 specific instances  where I actually broke down in tears watching.

The first time was when Bono was on for an interview with Oprah.  I couldn’t explain it, but I just felt that somehow music was my destiny. However, I was sitting on a couch folding laundry while watching daytime talk shows.  I was also going to a very stifling church that frowned upon doing music outside their worship team.  I didn’t see how it was going to possible for me to actually do what I felt in my soul I was supposed to do.

The second time was when Oprah had a singing contest for stay-at-home moms.  I even recorded a video tape to enter.  I watched the competition shows with a huge sense of sadness, as so many moms with kids got to take steps towards their dreams.  The winner was a mom of 5 and started her Christian music career.   At that time I felt that I missed my chance. Why?  I chickened out and didn’t send in my tape.  My fear of displeasing other people kept me from sending it in.  I really regret that, but maybe it was meant to be that way.

Something happened deep inside me though, as within a couple of years I decided to start my music career.  It took me awhile to find my footing, but I’ve been on a steady climb since 2011, with a lot of learning that has happened along the way.  This past year especially has been a year of decompressing, learning, growing, deciding, and doing.

Everyone’s heard about my past struggles:  Old news, trampled in the streets.  Here’s some new news to see:  God told me to do this.  I prayed about it a lot.  He showed me through a lot of different avenues and from different mouths that this is what I am supposed to do.  So I’m going to.  I’m not that same young girl who sat watching the TV wishing for something that I was too afraid to do.  I have a purpose.  I have a destiny.  Walk on.

Leave a Reply

