Nashville Hot Chicken

I have a new love.  It is spicy and hot.  And fried.  While I’ve always had buffalo wings up there at the top of my list, they have succombed to yesteryear’s favorite.  Don’t feel bad.  They were there for well over twenty years.  I think that it is the wham-bang combo found in Nashville Hot Chicken of smoked paprika and the sweet-savory flavor that I love together.  LOVE.

I find this recent love rather sentimental.  Reason being, my Grandpa Bill, who died when I was 15 years old, had a love for fried chicken that bordered on obsessive.  I can’t really blame him.  When I really LOVE a food, I’ll talk about it non-stop and very emphatically.  If we were getting out of church, he’d want fried chicken.  If we were out in the barn working with the horses, he’d want fried chicken.  Sitting around the table, talking with family, he’d talk about fried chicken.  I am my grandfather’s granddaughter.  I do the same.

When we moved away from Nashville, I realized that Nashville Hot was no longer available to me.  It isn’t like I gorged myself on it often, but it was more of a “once readily available, now 7 hours away” thing.  But then, KFC, God bless their souls, has re-added it to their menu.  Put some of their honey sauce on top and I’m in heaven.  Coincidentally, after the horse races, Grandpa Bill would generally stop at Kentucky Fried.  ❤️


If you happen to be in Nashville, please check out Party Fowl.  Even if you are a hot-sauce fiend, ghost pepper what-not, I highly recommend that you don’t think you can just “take it”, and get their “Poultry-giest”.  Yeah… I love hot food.  I got the one under Poultry-geist, and THAT was almost too much for me.  I got a rash around my mouth from it.  Now before you freak out, please be aware that I’m actually somewhat allergic to capsicum.  Yet I still ignore that fact occasionally, and eat hot peppers anyway.  Why?  Because I love spicy food.  That’s why!

I love Party Fowl’s chicken so much that I bought a hat.  I’m a hard core fan.  Now pass me a slice of chocolate cake with raspberry glace, and chocolate ganache, and I’ve just had my favorite meal.

erisa-rei-nash-hat-2

Leave a Reply

