Snickerdoodle Mishap

Our Christmas season got kind of hairy there at the end.  Things to do added up, but all were accomplished!  In the midst of it, though, I found that my normal “head-on-straight” was a bit akilter. In my life, until this past week, I’ve ruined a total of 3 batches of cookies.  And trust me, there have been a lot of cookies made by me.

Two of the batches happened as a child, when I was trying to improvise without the know-how to do so.  My mom taught me to be an improvisational cook, as there were times our cabinet had only a few seemingly mis-matched items in it.  Somehow my mom always pulled something awesome together for us to eat.  Through the years, I’ve gained the same reputation, but more because I forget to lay out meat or stock up on certain items in the pantry.  My oldest girl is also adept at this, and my younger two girls are learning.  They’re all good cooks and bakers.

Back to the subject, I don’t know why, but I was very distracted while baking this past week.  I totally messed up the Snickerdoodles:

bad-sds

Like I said, I got distracted, and miscounted how much flour I put in.  I omitted one cup of flour.  The family still ate it.  I thought they were greasy and gross.  But I redeemed myself the next day:

good-sds

These were delicious.

Funnily enough, the next day, I messed up another batch of cookies, but was able to redeem them before it was too late.  I also came out of it with a new cookie recipe! That’s what you call making lemonade from lemons.  And finally, I have perfected my Kopp Sugar Cookie recipe. The final ingredient has been added.  It is finished! 😀

I’m not sure about sharing that one, but here is the Snickerdoodle recipe that four generations of my family have now made.  Just don’t forget to add the right amount of flour!

snickerdoodle-recipe

 

I hope that you all had a wonderful holiday season!

 

 

Leave a Reply

